2018 Rochester Black Men Achieve Awards Nominees are…

Man of the Year

  • Leonard Brock; Exec. Dir., RAMPI
  • Roosevelt Mareus; Dean/Exec. Dir., REOC
  • James Norman; President, ABC, Inc.


Future Man of the Year

  • Zaire Downs
  • Geoffrey Rogers
  • Jeremiah West and Joshua West


Entertainer of the Year

  • Toshman Powell
  • Jay Real
  • Grand Tone


Musician of the Year

  • Chaz Bruce
  • Jimmie Highsmith, Jr.
  • Rufus McGee, Jr.
  • Carlton Wilcox


Visual Artist of the Year

  • Christopher Cardwell
  • Rob Daniels
  • Shawn Dunwoody
  • Richmond Futch, Jr.
  • David Haygood Jr.


Outstanding Literary Work

  • Our Voice Magazine; Kenny Jean
  • Rochester Black Author Expo; Corey Lamar Tanksley
  • Men’s Daily Affirmations: 21 Days of Affirmation; Kareem Hayes
  • It’s a Matter of Dominion!; Bishop Roderick L. Hennings


Sportsman of the Year

  • Greg Hopkins; Changing The Community, CTC, (Youth Fitness Training Program)
  • Willie Monroe; Jr., Boxer
  • James Reaves; Reaves Sports, LLC (Basketball Camp)
  • Jacob Scott; Edison Tech Basketball Team Coach
  • Roland Williams; Roland Williams Football Camp


Outstanding News and Media Programming

  • GSL Show; Geoffery Rogers
  • The Morning of Truth; Shabaka Mu Ausar & Amen Imhotep Ptah
  • Our Voice Talk Radio; Kenny Jean
  • Sunday Morning Gospel; Paul Boutte/WDKX
  • Wake-Up Club; 103.9 WDKX Radio Station


Outstanding Journalist or News/Media Host

  • Justin Carter; Reporter at 13WHAM News
  • Richard McCollough; President of RABJ and Mirusmedia
  • Geoffery Rogers; Reporter at GSL Show
  • Rashad J. Smith-Cooper; Publicist


Distinguished Public Service Servant of the Year

  • Ernest Flagler-Mitchell; Monroe County Legislator
  • David F. Gantt; NYS Assemblyman
  • Wayne Harris; Deputy Police Chief, RPD
  • Norman Jones; Commissioner DES, City of Rochester
  • Adam McFadden; Councilmember, City of Rochester


Charles Price Community Policeman of the Year

  • Wayne Harris; Deputy Police Chief, RPD
  • Moses Robinson; RPD
  • Mark Simmons; Deputy Police Chief, RPD


Firefighter of the Year

  • Lawrence Brumfield; Captain, RFD
  • Ernest Flagler-Mitchell, RFD
  • Willie Lightfoot; RFD


Distinguished Health Professional of the Year

  • Lee Davis; EazyWork Fitness
  • Jean V. Joseph, MD; URMC
  • Ayodele Tolulope Sangosanya, MD; URMC


Distinguished Educator of the Year

  • Chaz Bruce; RCSD School #17
  • Howard Eagle; Adjunct Professor, SUNY Brockport
  • Cory Johnson; RCSD Leadership Academy


Distinguished School Leader of the Year

  • Joel Frater, EdD; Exec. Dean, MCC Damon City Campus
  • Walter Larkin Jr.; Principal, Edison Tech High School
  • Roosevelt Mareus; Dean/Exec. Dir., REOC
  • Shaun Nelms, EdD; Superintendent, East High School


Distinguished Lawyer of the Year

  • Duwaine Bascoe, Woods Oviatt
  • Aaron T. Frazier, Harris Beach
  • Judge Stephen T. Miller, Rochester City Court


The Bishop Gregory L. Parris Inspirational Leader of the Year

  • Melvin Cross, Jr.; Pastor, Glory House International Church
  • Frederick Johnson; Pastor, First Genesis Baptist Church
  • James C. Simmons; Pastor, Baber AME Church
  • Rev. Lewis Stewart; President, United Christian Leadership Ministry
  • David Williams; MOG Movement


Civil & Human Rights Activist of the Year

  • Howard Eagle; Activists Against Racism Movement
  • Adrian Elim; B.L.A.C.K,
  • Larry Knox; SEIU 1199
  • Demond Meeks; CBTU
  • Lewis Stewart; President, United Christian Leadership Ministry


Community Leader of the Year

  • Leonard Brock; Executive Director, RAMPI
  • Leslie Harvey; The Housing Council
  • Michael James; SITOO Dreams Corps
  • Cory Johnson; RCSD Leadership Academy
  • Rodney Young; AALDP United Way

Distinguished Brother of the Year

  • Kevin Leysath (Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.)
  • Demond Meeks (Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.)
  • James Waters (Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.)


Outstanding Executive and/or Entrepreneur of the Year

  • David Dey, President, Institute for Social Entrepreneurship
  • Norman Jones, Commissioner DES, City of Rochester
  • James Norman, President of Action For A Better Community
  • Tyrone Reaves, Owner of TruForm Manufacturing


Outstanding Men’s Program

  • Catholic Family Services
  • Center for Employment Opportunities
  • Operation Transformation Rochester: City of Rochester
  • Rochester OACES


Outstanding Youth Program

  • Boys and Girls Club of Rochester
  • Hillside Work-Scholarship Connection
  • Summer of Opportunity Program: City of Rochester
  • Team I.M.P.A.C.T: Nathaniel Smith
  • Teen Empowerment


Outstanding Community Organization of the Year

  • Action for a Better Community
  • Hillside Work-Scholarship Connection
  • House of Mercy


Distinguished Fraternal Order Organization of the Year

  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.; Eta Rho Lambda Chapter
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.; Theta Omicron Chapter
  • Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.; Theta Upsilon Sigma Chapter


Outstanding Business of the Year

  • City of Rochester
  • Genesee Brewery
  • Li Destri Foods, Inc.